Prac -22

22nd last day: it’s pure coincidence that the terrible NSW bushfires occurred on the day I guided my students to write bushfire poems. After analyzing Les Murray’s ‘Late Summer Fires’ poem, they wrote their own. In 10 minutes. I have 44 fantastic bushfire poems from 13 year olds who told me last week they couldn’t write poetry.

Photo idea: use photos to assist kids to write descriptive imagery. Simple, I know. But effective, whatever the subject. In this case they didn’t share ideas until they were finished – I think privacy triggered creativity and ownership of the text.
1004985_606750992699903_1109285756_n

Leave a Reply

